My Vikings Game Experience

John Bitz

December 11, 2019

My Vikings Game Experience

This past Sunday, I went up to U.S Bank Stadium in Minneapolis, Minnesota, to watch the Minnesota Vikings play the Detroit Lions. It ended up being a good game in which the Vikings won 20 to 7 over the Lions. The Vikings defense played an excellent game. The Vikings defense had five sacks, including three sacks by Danielle Hunter, and 2 interceptions. The defense also gave up only 231 yards total yards to the Lions and that played a major factor in how the outcome of the game was decided. The Vikings offense also played well. They only scored 20 points, but they dominated the time of possession battle and did not turn the football over.

The stadium itself was very well built and one of the best sports stadiums I have ever visited. The field looked very good from where I was sitting, and I got a few pictures of it.

An activity that I did while I was at U.S Bank Stadium was visiting the Vikings official team store and purchasing a small souvenir to remember my first time visiting the stadium. This small souvenir was a mini Vikings helmet and it cost me $5.40 to buy but I knew it would be worth it because it would give me a memory of my first trip to U.S Bank Stadium.

 Something that I thought was unique about U.S Bank Stadium was their section dedicated to Minnesota High School football. They had a huge wall of all the football helmets from every high school football team in the state of Minnesota. It was in this moment that I thought of my time at John Marshall High School in Rochester, Minnesota. I figured that I should see if I could find where my high school’s helmet was hanging. I was able to find it after a few minutes of searching the wall. I later shared it to my Instagram and Facebook pages, and I had a lot of my former classmates in high school like the posts I made on both social media sites.

The best part of going to the game was by far being a part of the famous SKOL chant. The energy that went into this chant at the game was amazing and it demonstrates just how committed Vikings fans are to their team.

I must admit that I had a great time at this game and at U.S Bank Stadium. I was a one of a kind experience that I will never forget. Someday, I hope to come back and enjoy this experience again.

Works Cited

“Lions vs. Vikings – Game Summary – December 8, 2019.” ESPN, ESPN Internet Ventures, www.espn.com/nfl/game/_/gameId/401127926.

Press, Associated. “Defense Delivers as Vikings Sail Past Lions 20-7.” ESPN, ESPN Internet Ventures, 8 Dec. 2019, www.espn.com/nfl/recap?gameId=401127926.

Leave a comment